Tatiana Bilbao wins Marcus Prize 2019

Tatiana Bilbao
Photo © Ana Lorenzana
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Mexico City-based architect Tatiana Bilbao is winner of the 2019 Marcus Prize, a coveted achievement in international architecture that includes a $100,000 award and a supported design studio for students in the School of Architecture & Urban Planning at UW-Milwaukee.

Bilbao is founder of Tatiana Bilbao Estudio in Mexico City. She established the firm in 2004 as an architectural practice and urban think tank.

Supported by the Marcus Corporation Foundation and administered by the School of Architecture & Urban Planning at UWM, the 2019 Marcus Prize attracted a pool of nominees from 14 countries and five continents.

“Selecting one recipient was extremely difficult, but Tatiana Bilbao’s work has something for everyone,” said Marcus Prize juror Matt Messner, former Midwest editor of the Architect’s Newspaper. “Along with complex social and cultural considerations, her work is formally and materially rich. She is an organizer, instigator and thought leader in her native Mexico, as well as around the world through her teaching and practice.”

“The Marcus Prize is a part of our ongoing commitment to support the growth and development of Milwaukee,” said Steve Marcus, CEO of the Marcus Corporation and a director of the Marcus Corporation Foundation, adding that excellence in design has a large impact on the reputation of the city.

Messner was joined by fellow Marcus Prize jurors Cheryl McAfee, CEO of McAfee3 Architects and former president of the National Organization of Minority Architects; Gordon Beckman, partner and design director at John Portman Associates; David Marcus, chairman of Marcus Corporation Foundation; Mo Zell, chair of the Department of Architecture, and Bob Greenstreet, dean of the School of Architecture & Urban Planning at UWM.

Bilbao will lead a sponsored studio at the school in spring 2020. She is the eighth Marcus Prize awardee, joining a roster of influential international architects. Her immediate Marcus Prize predecessor is Jeanne Gang, a MacArthur Fellow recently named to the 2019 Time 100 influencers list.

Share this article
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
see more
You might also like

Subscribe to our newsletter